Skip to Content
Need Help Live Chat

CIT Welcomes New Board to Shape the Future Direction of CIT

Published: 26 Jun 2015

Today Canberra Institute of Technology (CIT) is pleased to welcome the eight members of the incoming CIT Board appointed by the Minister for Education and Training, Joy Burch MLA, to ensure CIT thrives into the future as a leading provider of vocational education and training (VET) in the ACT.

Acting CIT Chief Executive Leanne Cover says the change will enable CIT to be more responsive, flexible and agile in an increasingly competitive market.
"These arrangements have been in the pipeline for some time, and are an important part of CIT's blueprint for the future. It is exciting to see these plans that have been carefully considered to guide CIT through times of change now coming to fruition," Ms Cover said.
The board members have been carefully selected to provide specific and general expertise in business and industry from public and private sector backgrounds. The CIT Chief Executive joins the board as the ninth member. 
"Nationally, the VET landscape has changed considerably over the past few years. We have observed what's happened in other jurisdictions as we've considered a way forward, and I am confident that introducing a board with strong industry links and expertise into the decision making process is the best way forward for CIT.
"Under the new governance arrangements, CIT will remain the public provider of VET in the ACT, but the addition of a new decision making board will increase the organisation's flexibility and agility in responding to future change in the VET market and allow for streamlining of decisions," Ms Cover said.
The newly announced board members are Mr Craig Sloan (chair), Ms Michelle Melbourne (deputy chair), Prof. Stephanie Fahey (member), Mr Peter McGrath (member), Ms Anita Wesney (CIT staff member), Mr Kent Chambers (CIT student member), the Director-General, Education and Training Directorate and the Director-General, Economic Development Directorate.
"I thank Minister Burch for her government's support for the changes and continuing support for CIT. I warmly welcome the new board members, and I particularly acknowledge recently retired CIT Chief Executive Adrian Marron along with the CIT Council in positioning CIT to establish the CIT Board."

The legislation to allow for the change in governance arrangements, the Canberra Institute of Technology Amendment Act 2014, was passed in November last year.
The CIT Board commences on 1 July 2015.

Media Enquiries:
M: 0421 871 880

Course enquiries:
Canberra Institute of Technology, phone (02) 6207 3188 or email